Someone ask me what’s the time in australia

Go on
Ask me

Without batting an eye i’ll tell you
Add three hours
Or
Add two if they’re on daylight savings time

But wait
Wait a second,
Maybe two,
And you’ll see it in my eyes,
You’ll see it in my telltale eyes and my trembling lips
That I still haven’t forgotten how to add and minus numbers every time I look at a clock

You’ll be able to see that I still remember
Falling asleep at eleven because he says I should
Because I’ve got school
While he’s still up although it’s one
Even though he’s got school too
But sure enough if you checked on either of us an hour or two later we’d still be up
Either on a call or on that stupid whatsapp chat that we should’ve called your relationship instead, saying,
“I miss you, I wish I kissed you.”

Someone ask me what’s the time in australia
Without batting an eye i’ll tell you
Add three hours
or
Add two if they’re on daylight savings time

You’d think that after two years I would’ve forgotten how to add and minus these numbers
Again
And again
And again
But I guess two years isn’t enough to minus about 5 years of
On
And off
And on
And off
And on
And off
And no one could understand why we ticked like the time bomb we were
And I’m gonna be real with you
I didn’t either
And neither did he
But god, did we want to stop ticking and just lay in eachothers arms till the sun came up and even after
But then again
Maybe it was the hype
Maybe it was the whole rush we got when we played truth or dare for the third time that year knowing that the end of it wouldn’t be any different from the last two
We both knew he’d go,
“Dare”
And I’d say,” Who do you like?”
And he’d whine saying that’s a truth question and I’d tell him to answer it
And he’d say “I like you”
And I’d go, “I like you too”

Someone ask me what’s the time in australia
Without batting an eye i’ll tell you
Add three hours
or
Add two if they’re on daylight savings time

It’s the only thing I remember from that last time
Those three fucking hours
Again and again and again
Till it ripped us apart

Well that and that shitty boarding school wifi connection
But you know.



11:56; 13/5/16

